Lack’s Race, Fitzlaff’s Championship

Published On February 13, 2015 | By SlotCarReport | Race Results

Menomonee Falls, WI – Mike Lack won the battle, but Mike Fitzlaff won the championship.

The finale of the Super Hot Mod Unlimited Championship took place at the long and wild Turtle Creek Raceway on Thursday night. Lack needed to win the race and then have Fitzlaff finish sixth or worse to claim the title. The scenario almost happened as Lack grabbed the victory and Fitzlaff’s ride struggled.

The opening heat race featured the former RC racing gang of Lack, John Wiedemann and first time SHMUC Nick Bartolone. Lack ran away with the victory with a 98 lap run. Wiedemann turned 87 laps and Bartolone struggled with a Wiedemann Motorsports backup ride which was super quick but scary in the turns.

Fitzlaff raced in heat two against his backup ride, piloted by Mike Kristof and against rookie phenom Bill Black. Fitzlaff bested Lack with a 100 lap run while his teammate Kristof ran 90 laps to position himself third overall with one heat race to go. Fitzlaff set the fast lap of the night in the heat race with a 3.280 second run. Black had made his first SHMUC feature at Turtle Creek two events ago, but his run tonight was over quickly. After only 26 circuits, Black rolled into the pits with an overheated motor.

The final heat race had longtime slot car racer Ev Kamikawa pitted against rookies Keith Lindbeck and Pete Dorn. The opening half was close with Kamikawa holding a four lap lead over Dorn, who turned a 3.609 second lap for fastest of the race. Lindbeck ran with the leaders just three laps behind Dorn. In the second half, Dorn continue to lead the field with the quickest lap but could not gain any ground on Kamikawa as both drivers turned the same amount of laps in the half. Kamikawa just missed making the feature by five laps, a late race crash derailing his hopes to race on.

An all Corvette field filled the feature race with the Fitzlaff Motorsports Vettes taking on Lack and Wiedemann. The opening half of the race was a tight battle between Lack, Fitzlaff and Kristof. At the break Lack and Fitzlaff were tied at 50 laps with Kristof only two behind. Wiedemann’s ride suffered overheating issues and he fell back to just turning laps. Lack continued to throttle up in the second half as the Fitzlaff Motorsports cars struggled. Kristof fell back while having trouble negotiating the red lane, dropping ten laps off his earlier pace. Fitzlaff’s car slowed with the dreaded overheating issue, knowing that by making the feature, he would be the champ. With no issues, Lack hammered the trigger and ran away with the victory by six laps, his second consecutive series win.

With three wins in five races and two runner-up finishes, Fitzlaff captured the inaugural SHMUC championship. Always fast, Fitzlaff Motorsports overall scored the three victories, four 2nd place finishes and two third place finishes, truly the team to beat.

Lack finished second in the standings with two victories, one second place finish and two third place runs. Wiedemann finished the season in third followed by Dean Strom and Kamikawa. Bill Black was the rookie of the year with one feature appearance and a best of fourth. A total of thirteen drivers made at least one race in the inaugural SHMUC season.

Stay tuned for series news including a 2015/2016 schedule.

Heat 1
Mike Lack – Corvette – 98 laps
John Wiedemann – Corvette – 87
Nick Bartolone – Lamborghini – 54

Heat 2
Mike Fitzlaff – Corvette – 100
Mike Kristof – Corvette – 90
Bill Black (R) – 1979 Pontiac Trans Am – 26

Heat 3
Ev Kamikawa – Ferrari F1 – 82
Pete Dorn (R) – Pontiac – 78
Keith Lindbeck – Nissan – 55

Mike Lack – Corvette – 101 laps
Mike Fitzlaff – Corvette – 95
Mike Kristof – Corvette – 90
John Wiedemann – Corvette – 79

Point Standings (5 of 5 events)
Name, Best Finish, Feature Appearances
Mike Fitzlaff 84 (3 wins, 5 features)
Mike Lack 75 (2 wins, 5 features)
John Wiedemann 49 (3rd, 4 features)
Dean Strom 30 (2nd, 2 features)
Ev Kamikawa 30 (4th, 1 features)
Mike Kristof 24 (3rd, 2 features)
Bill Black (R) 23 (4th, 1 feature)
Pete Dorn (R) 15 (6th)
Keith Lindbeck (R) 9 (6th)
Hiro Kamikawa (R) 7 (5th)
Andy Black (R) 4 (7th)
Dan Margetta 3 (7th)
Nick Bartolone 1 (8th)


For more information, please visit

About the SHMUC Series:
Using modified slot cars based on the Tyco 440/440X2 and X3 chassis, the Super Hot Mod Unlimited Championship strives to have the driver/engineers build the fastest slot cars as possible while making sure that they last till the checkered flag waves. The racing action is fast and furious and also alot of fun. The series races in the Milwaukee, WI area on 4 lane HO scale slot car tracks.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.