Fitzlaff Undefeated With Turtle Creek Victory

Published On January 16, 2015 | By SlotCarReport | Race Results

Menomonee Falls, WI – The Super Hot Mod Unlimited Championship passed the halfway point of the season Thursday night with Mike Fitzlaff again in victory lane and remaining undefeated in the series.

With the series racing for the first time on the long straightaways of the recently relocated Turtle Creek Raceway, Fitzlaff opened up everyone’s eyes when posted and unofficial lap in the 2.7 second range, the first time that the three second barrier has been cracked.

The largest field in series history of nine racers was split into three heat races to determine the feature for the third event on the five race schedule.

The first heat pitted top racers Fitzlaff and Mike Lack with Lack besting Fitzlaff by three laps at the finish and putting a big 100 lap number on the scoreboard. Rookies filled the next heat with Bill Black, his son Andy and Pete Dorn racing for spots in the feature. Andy fell out with handling issues, leaving Bill and Dorn to battle. Dorn suffered the dreaded handling issues in the second half while Black secured the third provisional position in the feature with one heat race to go. IndySlotCar racer Mike Kristof pitted his Fitzlaff Motorsports Corvette against Ev Kamikawa’s Ferrari and rookie Keith Lindbeck to see if they could bust their way into the finals. Kamikawa accomplished the dubious honor of the first driver ever in the series to blow his engine in competiton. Just about two minutes into the first half, Kamikawa’s car stopped on the straight while smoke poured out from under the car as the chassis began to melt. In the second half it looked like leader Kristof would surrender to the same fate as Kamikawa when his Corvette started to overheat. Even with stopping a number of times to cool off the engine, Kristof took the win and knocked John Wiedemann out of the final to secure the fourth position.

Corvettes versus Datsun was the theme of the feature with two Fitzlaff Motorsport Chevys, driven by Fitzlaff and Kristof, and Lack’s Chevy took on rookie Black’s 280ZX. Lack and Fitzlaff immediately set the pace with Kristof and Black following closely behind. Multiple crashes early in the race, featuring all of the drivers, slowed the pace in the first half as the drivers paced the track at top speed. Fitzlaff won the first half by two laps over Lack, turning the fastest lap in competition at Turtle Creek with a 2.901 second lap. Lack was on his game in the second half, getting his laps back and battling for the lead with Fitzlaff. The lead was exchanged back and forth until Lack crashed into Black’s car which ended up in the middle of the straightaway after a spin. Lack lost the shoe and had to repair his car while the rest of the field raced away. Fitzlaff again regained his two lap advantage and grabbed SHMUC win number three. Lack recovered to finish a disappointing second. Kristof finished his first SHMUC event in third place, just seven laps behind second place and Black improved his run in the second half for a solid fourth place run.

Fitzlaff continues to lead the points by not letting anyone else visit victory lane. Lack moved into second place in the standings, fifteen points behind the leader. Bill Black gained in the point standings, moving up to fifth place following his feature race run.

The SHMUC schedule resumes on January 29th, 2015 at the Deckertring. All eyes will be on Fitzlaff as he will be looking to clinch the SHMUC inaugural season title at his home track.

Heat 1
Mike Lack – Corvette – 100 laps
Mike Fitzlaff – Corvette – 97
John Wiedemann – Corvette – 72

Heat 2
Bill Black (R) – Datsun 280ZX – 81 laps
Pete Dorn (R) – Pontiac – 61
Andy Black (R) – Thunderbird – 12

Heat 3
Mike Kristof – Corvette – 80 laps
Keith Lindbeck (R) – Hummer – 61
Ev Kamikawa – Ferrari F50 – 28

Mike Fitzlaff – Corvette – 111 laps
Mike Lack – Corvette – 109 laps
Mike Kristof – Corvette – 102 laps
Bill Black (R) – Datsun 280ZX – 78 laps

Point Standings (3 of 5 events)
Mike Fitzlaff 54
Mike Lack 39
Dean Strom 30
John Wiedemann 27
Bill Black (R) 15
Ev Kamikawa 13
Mike Kristof 12
Hiro Kamikawa (R) 7
Keith Lindbeck (R) 6
Pete Dorn (R) 5
Dan Margetta 3
Andy Black (R) 1


For more information, please visit

About the SHMUC Series:
Using modified slot cars based on the Tyco 440/440X2 and X3 chassis, the Super Hot Mod Unlimited Championship strives to have the driver/engineers build the fastest slot cars as possible while making sure that they last till the checkered flag waves. The racing action is fast and furious and also alot of fun. The series races in the Milwaukee, WI area on 4 lane HO scale slot car tracks.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Comments are closed.